Random Thoughts: Change, Primary Sources & Other Stuff

Primary sources help us write better!

Posted on: September 12, 2011

A university student’s eyes lit up when I said I taught a course for teachers on using primary sources in the classroom!

I learned about them in high school; I’m glad I did; my university professors expect us to know how to find them and use them for research.   I wish we had used them more in high school; they would help me write better.  It’s like being a detective!

Thanks, Megan!  You are so right.

The eagle map of the United States, Library of Congress

Primary sources are all around us in our homes and communities. They bring learning to life; they add meaning to our experiences and learning. State standards require students to use primary sources.  The Eagle Map of the United States added excitement and enthusiasm to a 4th grade teaching activity I created — and it was a perfect match for current classroom activities.  We all had fun learning.Treasures like these  are now more accessible and exciting  than ever thanks to ever expanding digitalization.

How can I find appropriate resources? What do I do with them?
We have a course to help you!   Check us out!

Teaching with Primary Sources  begins soon!
Comments from Past Students
Register Online: http://www.uwstout.edu/soe/profdev/

Eagle Map of the United States, Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division, http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.gmd/g3700.np000151 
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

